Birds

27 September 2021

I missed a great photo opportunity this morning on one of my regular but less-frequent-than-they-should-be bird watching walks this morning. A male red-backed fairy wren was perched one line of barbed wire fence below a male superb fairy wren on the fence above it – about ½ a metre apart. Mutual disregard – perhaps because they were eyeing me. For the non-twitcher this is perhaps nothing, but for me it was a unique and special occasion. I’ve never seen this close pairing before and I’ve only ever seen superbs here once before. And that first occasion was recent – so perhaps they have migrated into the area, normally dominated by red-backed.

Birds are such special markers of biodiversity and environments. To follow their movements both in place and time and to mark their presence or absence signifies so much.

Red-backed Fairy wren
Superb fairy wren.

Leave a comment